Padma Awards 2022- from Big Tech, Science and Technology

On the occasion of 73rd Republic Day, the Government of India has announced the Padma Awards 2022.

On the occasion of 73rd Republic Day, the Government of India has announced the Padma Awards 2022. President Ram Nath Kovind has approved the conferment of 128 Padma Awards, including 2 duo cases. Padma Awards 2022 list is comprised of 4 Padma Vibhushan, 17 Padma Bhushan, and 107 Padma Shri awardees.
Padma Awards were initiated in the year 1954. The Padma is awarded to citizens of India in recognition of their distinguished contribution in various fields of activity including the arts, education, industry, literature, science, acting, medicine, social service and public affairs. Though now in later times it has also been awarded to some non-citizens of India but did contribute in some ways to the nation.
The Padma Awards are one of the highest civilian honors of India, given in three categories:
• Padma Vibhushan (for exceptional and distinguished service)
• Padma Bhushan (distinguished service of higher-order)
• Padma Shri (distinguished service).
In this article, our focus is to cover top tech awardees, under discipline:
o Science & Engineering (includes Space Engineering, Nuclear Science, Information Technology, Research & Development in Science & its allied subjects, etc.)
o Trade & Industry (includes Banking, Economic Activities, Management, Promotion of Tourism, Business, etc.)

1. Shri Satya Narayana Nadella-
He is executive chairman and CEO of Microsoft, who received Padma Bhushan in the category Trade and Industry.

2.Shri Sundararajan Pichai-
Popularly known to be Sundar Pichai is the chief executive officer of Alphabet Inc. and its subsidiary Google. He has been awarded Padma Bhushan in Trade and Industry.

3. Shri Cyrus Poonawalla-
He is the Chairman and MD of the Cyrus Poonawalla Group, which includes the Serum Institute of India(known for manufacturing ‘Covieshield’), the largest manufacturer of vaccines in the world.
He received Padma Bhushan in Trade and Industry discipline.

4. Krishna Ella and Suchitra Ella –
Krishna Ella is the Chairman of Bharat Biotech and Suchitra Ella is the Co-founder. Bharat Biotech is the manufacturer of India’s indigenous vaccine ‘Covaxin’.
They have been conferred with Padma Bhushan in the field of Trade and Industry.

5. Shri Sanjaya Rajaram –
He is an Indian-born Mexican scientist, whose research in developing 480 varieties of wheat has led to an increment in wheat production worldwide by more than 200 million tonnes.
He has been awarded Padma Bhushan(Posthumous) in Science and Technology discipline. Earlier in 2001, he has been awarded Padma Shri, the fourth civilian award.

6. Shri Subbanna Ayyappan –
He is a reputed Aquaculture Scientist and played a vital role in powering India’s Blue Revolution. He is the former Director-General, Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR).
He received Padma Bhushan in Science and Engineering discipline.

7. Shri Aditya Prasad Dash –
He contributed to the field of malaria and vector-borne disease(VBD) in developing a variety of tools and strategies to counter VBD.
He received Padma Bhushan in Science and Engineering discipline.

8. Shri Moti Lal Madan –
He is an Indian biotechnology researcher, veterinarian, academic, and administrator. He is also known for ‘First successful in vitro fertilization of a buffalo in the world’.
He has been awarded Padma Shri in Science and Engineering discipline.

9. Shri Anil Kumar Rajvanshi –
He is the current director of NARI(Nibkar Agriculture Research Institute). He has more than 35 years of experience in renewable energy research, rural and sustainable development.
He received Padma Shri in Science and Engineering category.

10. Shri Ajay Kumar Sonkar –
He had successfully transported Pinctada margaritifera, commonly known as the black-lip pearl oyster, from Andaman and Nicobar Islands to his lab and produced pearls using his special technique, an achievement that had earned him praise from President Ram Nath Kovind- as per sources.
He has been conferred with Padma Shri Science and Engineering category.

11. Shri Jyantkumar Maganlal Vyas –
He received Padma Shri in Science and Engineering, from Gujarat.