FTII to provide guidance to Ladakh University for Film and Television courses in the campus of the University

The Film and Television Institute of India, Pune (FTII) launched a new programme with the University of Ladakh on July 28, 2022. Both the institutes signed a Memorandum of Understanding. FTII, Pune signed this MoU with the aim of becoming knowledge Partner in courses related to film and television productions at Ladakh University. 

This partnership will facilitate the organization of courses in film and television at the campuses of Ladakh University with the supervision and guidance of FTII, Pune. FTII has an active Online programme calle FTII Online under their Centre for Open Learning. This online programme has been active in Ladakh under FTII’s open learning. Additionally the institutes have also arranged some short courses as part of Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav celebrations. 

The MoU that was signed on Thursday saw the presence of FTII Regisgtrar, Shri Sayyid Rabeehashmi and Prof Deskyong Namgyal, Dean, Ladakh Unversity and Prof. S. K. Mehta, Vice Chancellor, Ladakh University. FTII Registrar, Shri Sayyid Rabeehashmi and Prof Deskyong Namgyal, Dean, Ladakh University signed the MoU. 

FTII, Pune is one of the premiere Film and Television in India. The Institute’s Alumni includes pioneers like Om Puri, Naseeruddin Shah, Danny Denzongpa to modern day pioneers like Rajkumar Rao. 

The Government of India set up the Institute in the year 1960 in the premises of the erstwhile Prabhat Studios in Pune. The campus now stands on the grounds of Prabhat Studios. Prabhat Studio as a pioneer blessed Indian Filmmaking in the business of filmmaking. The studio was initially located in Kolhapur and shifted to Pune in 1933. The Prabhat Film Company bought a land in the year 1933. This became the present-day FTII campus. 

Formerly the institute was known as “Film Institute of India”. The Institute was a department of the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting of the Government of India. The Institute came to be known as “Film and Television Institute of India” in the year 1971. Since then it even started to in-service training programs for Doordarshan, India’s public broadcaster. The Television Training wing initially was functioning in New Delhi. It shifted to Pune in the year 1974. Consequently the institute became fully aided by the Ministry of Broadcasting of Information and Broadcasting. 

Along with that, FTII also became an Autonomous Society under the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting. A Governing Council and its appointed Director runs the society. 

FTII initially started off with five courses. Today the Institute offers eleven full-time courses in various disciplines of film and television. Along with that it also offers many short term courses. The full time courses are taught on-campus in Pune. Other courses are held off-campus at centres all across India. 

The Institute constitutes of a Film Wing and Television Wing. At present the disciplines in which the Film Wing offers courses are Direction & Screenplay Writing, Cinematography, Editing, Sound Recording & Sound Design, Screen Acting and Screen Writing (Film, TV & Web Series). The disciplines in which the TV Wing offers courses are Direction, Electronic Cinematography, Video Editing and Sound Recording & Television Engineering. The courses offered by the Film wing are PG Diploma courses of two and three year duration. The courses offered by the TV Wing are PG Certificate courses of one-year duration. 

Admission to Film and Television Institute of India happens through the Joint Entrance Test (JET) and subsequent rounds of Orientation and Interview. The Joint Entrance Test (JET) is jointly organized by FTII, Pune along with Satyajit Ray Film and Television Institute of India (SRFTI), Kolkata.