How to deactivate or delete your Twitter account?
What is the difference between deactivating and deleting your Twitter account?
Deactivating your Twitter account is the first step toward permanently deleting your account. The deactivation period is 30 days. If you do not access your account within the 30-day deactivation period, it is deleted, and your username is no longer associated with it.
Deactivating Twitter account
Deactivating your Twitter account initiates the process of permanently deleting your account. This step starts a 30-day window in which you can decide whether or not to reactivate your account.
When you deactivate your Twitter account, your username (or “handle”) and public profile will no longer be visible on twitter.com, Twitter for iOS, or Twitter for Android.
How Do You Deactivate Your Twitter Account From Your Phone?
- Select the the main menu option.
- There is a Settings and Privacy option right there (on iPhone, you need to click on the home button and swipe left to see the settings and privacy option)
- Tap on the Account option, just like on the web version, to see Twitter data (that you can download) and the option to deactivate your account.
- When you click the deactivate button, the Twitter system will prompt you for your password as confirmation. Your account will be deactivated once you enter this.
- The deactivation process is nearly identical on both Android and iOS.
Deleting Twitter account
Your Twitter account is permanently deleted after the 30-day deactivation period expires. When you do not log into your account during the 30-day period, it indicates that you wish to permanently delete your Twitter account. Your account is no longer available in our systems once it has been deleted. You will not be able to reactivate your previous account, nor will you be able to access any previous Tweets.
After your account is deactivated for 30 days, your username will be available for registration by other Twitter accounts.
How Do You Permanently Delete Your Twitter Account?
Unfortunately, there is no such straightforward option. All you have to do is follow the steps outlined above and wait 30 days for Twitter to permanently delete your account.