Top athletes who have joined politics after retirement

Krishna Poonia

A three time Olympic participant, Krishna Poonia, who was a player in disc throw. She joined politics in 2013 and became part of the Indian National Congress. The former player also contested elections in 2019 against Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore from the Sadulpur constituency in Rajhasthan.

Vijender Singh

The Haryana boy, who won a bronze medal in the Beijing Olympics is now enjoying his run in politics. He is a member of the Rahul Gandhi led Indian National Congress and is a candidate from the South Delhi and is extremely active in his new role. He was also a gang leader on MTV reality show Roadies for one season.

Mohammad Kaif

The Indian cricketer had joined the Congress in 2009. He participated in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections from Phulpur in Uttar Pradesh which he lost to BJP’s Keshav Prasad Maurya.

Navjot Singh Sidhu

Often referred to as Sixer Sidhu, for his ability of hitting the ball out of the park several times, the cricketer had a shaky sports career. Sidhu joined the BJP in 2004 and also won elections. However, his partnership with BJP didn’t last long and he joined their arch rivals Congress.

Deepa Malik

The para athlete who represented India in Shot Put in Paraolympics, is first Indian woman to win a medal in the games. After her tenure with sports got over, she joined the BJP party.

Gautam Gambhir

The former Kolkata Knight Riders captain is now the latest addition to politics from the sports world. After he took retirement from cricket, the left hander is now associated with BJP and has won the elections from East Delhi.

Sandeep Singh

The “Flicker Singh” and the most honoured name in Indian hockey, Sandeep Singh was elected from Pehowa constituency as MLA in Haryana being a part of BJP party in 2019. Later on, he was sworn in as Minister of Sports and Youth Affairs and Minister of Printing and Stationery.

Imran Khan

“Lion of Pakistan” and the winning captain of Pakistan’s winning World Cup in 1992. Imran established the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf in 1996, which marked his first step into politics. He won the general elections in 2018, and was sworn in as the 22nd Prime Minister of Pakistan. However, in early 2022 he lost a no confidence voteout and was sacked from the post of Prime Minister.