Shardul Thakur to replace Axar Patel in India’s World Cup team line up

Axar Patel has been replaced in Team India’s World Cup team by Shardul Thakur.

After consulting with the team management, the All-India Senior Selection Committee has added Shardul Thakur to the main squad. Axar Patel, an all-rounder who was part of the 15-man team, has been added to the roster of stand-by players.


Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami, Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant.


Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, and Axar Patel are the stand-by players.

The following cricketers will join Team India’s preparations in Dubai by joining the team bubble:

K. Gowtham, Avesh Khan, Umran Malik, Harshal Patel, Lukman Meriwala, Venkatesh Iyer, Karn Sharma, Shahbaz Ahmed


This was released in one of the BBCI Press releases