How to register for Indian cricket team

Selection Committee

The Selection Committee of the Indian team is a management of 5 members and a single convener. These all 5 members are solely responsible for team India’s selection and have all the voting rights. The Secretary is the convener of the selection committee. The five zones North, South, West, East and Central zones are represented by the five members only. Moreover, the Indian team head coach and captain of India are also invited to the meetings of the selection committee.

But, this is just the beginning, the main step is the Domestic career, let’s have a look at the Domestic Structure in correct order.

  1. First Class Cricket
  2. List A Cricket
  3. T20 Cricket

To get into the Indian team, club cricket is the first step, and the doorway to that is by being part of local cricket academy’s, promising players then go to play district level cricket. Moreover, each division has many districts. The Senior Divisional tournament is the gateway to joining the Ranji Trophy teams, but there is no approach for the Ranji State. Players who perform well in inter-division are picked by state team selectors and are called to a camp.

However, the domestic cricket is very fast in India. But the process of getting in the Indian team is quite a mixture of hardwork and consistency.

For every player that represents India, there needs to be some performances backing his selection. The most important tournament for domestic cricketers is the Ranji Trophy. A player who performs well in the Ranji Trophy goes further to the Duleep Trophy as well as the Irani Cup and then eventually has a chance to join the national Indian team.

The selectors put their best foot forward to bring in the guys who will be beneficial for the team and if they get someone who has not been in the system and still performs well, they’ll go after him.

However, the basic way to get selected in the Indian team is solely based on the Ranji Trophy.